full screen background image
Loading

barnes and noble

Barnes and Noble Book Recommendations for Pre-Teens

Posted by Lisa LaGrou October 18, 2013 Products, Reviews, Solutions

Barnes and Noble has taken time to make some book recommendations for pre-teen readers as a service to Oakland County Moms readers. These book recommendations are a perfect way to kick-start your pre-teen son or daughter’s reading program!

Book Recommendations for Pre Teens
Mousenet
By: Prudence Brietrose
Young Megan helped her father create the thumbtop-a laptop for mice! Now the secret mice nation wants the technology for their world. Megan has a hard time fitting in with the humans, but with the power of a mouse nation behind her, she can do anything. With adorable illustrations and a classic message, Mousenet is sure to please.
Darth Paper Strikes Back: An Origami Yoda Book (B&N Exclusive Edition)
By Tom Angleberger
At first, things look bad for Dwight in this sequel to The Strange Case of Origami Yoda. Harvey has convinced the powers-that-be to suspend his classmate as an incorrigible troublemaker, but his friends rush to his aid. A Barnes & Noble Exclusive that middle-schoolers won’t forget.
NG Kids Ultimate Weird but True: 1,000 Wild & Wacky Facts and Photos
By National Geographic
Don’t underestimate the power of stranger than fiction facts. Those wild, wacky facts serve as gateways into children’s interest in history, science, the animal world, and dozens of other pertinent topics. No one on earth does better at collecting eyebrow-raising trivia than the good folks at National Geographic. This inexpensively priced large-format hardcover gathers no fewer than 1,000 mind-boggling facts, bound to ensnare the attention of not only kids, but also their parents. The grand compendium of universal weirdness is presented in 200 themed spreads illustrated with 500 photos. Hours and hours of family fun.
Tuesdays at the Castle 
By Jessica Day George
Tuesdays at Castle Glower are Princess Celie’s favorite days. That’s because on Tuesdays the castle adds a new room, a turret, or sometimes even an entire wing. No one ever knows what the castle will do next, and no one-other than Celie, that is-takes the time to map out the new additions. But when King and Queen Glower are ambushed and their fate is unknown, it’s up to Celie, with her secret knowledge of the castle’s never-ending twists and turns, to protect their home and save their kingdom. This delightful book from a fan- and bookseller-favorite kicks off a brand-new series sure to become a modern classic.
The Emerald Atlas (Books of Beginning Series #1)
John Stephens
The perfect fit for readers 8-12 looking for the next big series! A great read for fans of Brandon Mull or Rick Riordian. Featuring a wonderfully crafted balance of adventure, humor, and incredible imagination, John Stephens debuts his first book in an exciting new series. Three children bounced from orphanage to orphanage, never aware of the incredible danger lurking just around the corner, and the remarkable role they will play in changing history, and setting things right, until now! Magic, mayhem, and an ancient prophecy- a recipe for a fantastic read.

Barnes and Noble will feature their book recommendations on Oakland County Moms every month. You can shop for these books via the Barnes & Noble website or at any of the Metro Detroit locations below:

Ann Arbor Barnes and Noble
Huron Village
3235 Washtenaw Ave
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48104
734-973-0846

Fairlane Green Barnes and Noble
3120 Fairlane Drive
Allen Park, Michigan 48101
313-271-0688

Genesee Valley Mall Barnes and Noble
4370 Miller Road Unit E-10
Flint, Michigan 48507
810-732-0704

Green Oak Village Place Barnes and Noble
9605 Green Oak Village Place
Green Oak Township, Michigan 48116
810-225-4670

Grosse Pointe Barnes and Noble
19221 Mack Ave
Grosse Pointe, Michigan 48236
313-884-5220

Livonia Barnes and Noble
17111 Haggerty Rd.
Northville, Michigan 48167
248-348-0696

Port Huron Barnes and Noble
Fort Gratiot
4325 24th Avenue
Fort Gratiot, Michigan 48059
810-385-4849

Rochester Hills Barnes and Noble
2800 S. Rochester Road
Rochester Hills, Michigan 48307
248-853-9855

Royal Oak Barnes and Noble
Main Place of Royal Oak
500 South Main Street
Royal Oak, Michigan 48067
248-336-9490

Shelby Township Barnes and Noble
Shelby Town Center
14165 Hall Road
Shelby Township, Michigan 48315
586-247-7416

Troy Barnes and Noble
396 John R. Road
Troy, Michigan 48083
248-577-5056

West Bloomfield Barnes and Noble
Orchard Lake Road
6800 Orchard Lake Rd
West Bloomfield, Michigan 48322
248-626-6804

See related posts below for more children’s books recommendations.

View our mom and family-focused local business directory
Error, no Ad ID set! Check your syntax!